Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry


Did you just get an email from RapLeaf?


I got two, both to addresses which I don't use any more. Looks like someone in RapLeaf has badly screwed up.



( 65 comments — Leave a comment )
Page 1 of 3
<<[1] [2] [3] >>
Sep. 5th, 2007 07:54 am (UTC)
Ditto. What's the story with this RapLeaf, anyhow?
Sep. 5th, 2007 07:57 am (UTC)
What *is* RapLeaf? I just assumed it was spam...
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:01 am (UTC)
They are kindly telling me that my sites are illegitimate.
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:01 am (UTC)
To my work account - I'm waiting to see if a message is forwarded from my former work account.
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:14 am (UTC)
Yes. Mine came to, and cited, a legitimate email address, seemingly grabbed from my Facebook profile. Their Wikipedia entry, especially the bit re "Upscoop", suggests that the bulk emailing may be a semi-intentional policy.
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:17 am (UTC)
Yes, one to work (presumably from facebook) and one to the address I use for my personal email that gets LJ comments etc. Not happy.
Sep. 5th, 2007 09:29 am (UTC)
Ah. It's FLICKR they've got my personal email from. My work email does link to facebook and LJ but it's patsycat so HA! to them.
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:24 am (UTC)
I appear to have a profile there without even registering, and at the top of the page I can 'click here to claim this profile'. They have my age right too.

I have e-mailed them: "Please inform me where you accessed the information about me that enabled you to create an unwanted profile, and where you have also made that information publicly available without my consent."

Do Not Want, they can f/o.

Sep. 5th, 2007 01:07 pm (UTC)
Could you tell me what response you get, if any, mostly because I want them to take my information down and I'm not sure how to get them to do that.
(Deleted comment)
(no subject) - peteyoung - Sep. 5th, 2007 06:02 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - peteyoung - Sep. 5th, 2007 06:01 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - redfiona99 - Sep. 5th, 2007 07:05 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - akicif - Sep. 5th, 2007 05:57 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - sevenorora - Sep. 5th, 2007 08:24 pm (UTC) - Expand
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:35 am (UTC)
This has freaked me out so badly. I have a stalker-ish ex out there and this stupid thing matched my false identity to my real-life email and city and stuff.

This is just so messed up.
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:38 am (UTC)
I'm in the "what the hell is rapleaf, although I didn't get any emails from them I had a look and discovered that there's a profile on there for me, who do these people think they are?" camp.

What's the content of the email?
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:55 am (UTC)
Title: "You were searched on Rapleaf"

Someone researched your reputation on Rapleaf by searching [genuine e-mail address].

To view (or update) your profile, check out: [profile address]

Even though your profile is incomplete, the person who searched you found some basic reputational information on you. At Rapleaf, you can find such information as age, location, history, social network links, and more on over 60 million people.

-Your friends at Rapleaf.com
Given how they compile these profiles via other contacts, the bit about "someone researched your reputation" is little more than a barefaced lie.

(no subject) - nalsa - Sep. 5th, 2007 09:17 am (UTC) - Expand
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:50 am (UTC)
I received an email on 2 accounts: one for hotmail that I normally only give out here and the (new) email address I use for my comments on LJ. Coincidentally, the hotmail one is my username here, while the other is nothing alike.

I thought it was spam when I got it on one but now that I have the second one. It seems to me this is something illegitimate, but I did read something about a new site that was collecting data from internet users and made them accessible to everyone. It was not named Rapleaf, but I suspect that if one directory does it, others would follow (think friendster -> MySpace).

If you have any more info, I'd be glad to be informed! :)
Sep. 5th, 2007 08:59 am (UTC)
Yes. Topmost 'Received:' header says:

Received: from mail.rapleaf.com ([])
by mailgate.acedragon.co.uk with esmtp (Exim 4.66 (FreeBSD))
(envelope-from <reputation@rapleaf.com>)
id 1ISl6w-0006YY-Ed
for david@matthewman.org; Wed, 05 Sep 2007 03:59:26 +0100 is mail.rapleaf.com by both forward and reverse DNS, so if it's someone trying to forge spam from rapleaf, they've done a better than usual job.

I'm just suspicious. People forge spam from Sibelius daily, and I frequently have to calm down customers who think we've sold their addresses on.)
Sep. 5th, 2007 09:02 am (UTC)
I got an email, and the page they have for me links my real name to my Flickr username. As I have been pretty careful not to have my username linked to my real name for Google purposes, I will be annoyed if it starts coming up on searches.
Sep. 5th, 2007 09:08 am (UTC)
I have been pretty careful not to have my username linked to my real name for Google purposes

So we should just call you Pope Despot instead?
(no subject) - despotliz - Sep. 5th, 2007 10:00 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - peteyoung - Sep. 5th, 2007 09:11 am (UTC) - Expand
Sep. 5th, 2007 09:19 am (UTC)
With any luck they'll be hounded off the net. Ideally, they'd be DDoS'ed off, because they sound like f**ktards who deserve it.

Sep. 5th, 2007 09:30 am (UTC)
Yeah, I got one sent to my work email address. However, it's an old address as the company changed name a couple of years ago. No idea where they got it from, though at one point I used my work email for a public mailing list that published its archives online (Brin-L, for my sins). That'd be my first guess as I haven't used that email address for anything else.
Sep. 5th, 2007 09:46 am (UTC)
Yes. And was deeply worried. They've only got my not-real name (this one) and it looks like they've got the info from either lj or hi5, which does not please me either.
Page 1 of 3
<<[1] [2] [3] >>
( 65 comments — Leave a comment )

Latest Month


Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by yoksel