Nicholas (nwhyte) wrote,

Newry and Armagh, Upper Bann #ae11

Newry and Armagh

Conor Murphy SF 9,127 19.6%
Danny Kennedy UUP 8,718 18.7%
Dominic Bradley SDLP 7,123 15.3%
Cathal Boylan SF 6,614 14.2%
William Irwin DUP 6,101 13.1%

Thomas O'Hanlon SDLP 3,825 8.2%
Mickey Brady SF 3,254 8.2%
Barrie Halliday TUV 830 1.8%
David Murphy AP 734 1.6%
Robert Woods UKIP 98 0.2%
James Malone Independent 90 0.2%

Least unexpected result of the election - same six MLA's elected as in 2007 from an all-male ballot paper.

Upper Bann

John O'Dowd SF 6,649 15.7%
Sydney Anderson DUP 5,854 13.8%
Stephen Moutray DUP 5,645 13.3%

Johnny McGibbon SF 0 4,879 11.5%
Dolores Kelly SDLP 4,846 11.4%
Sam Gardiner UUP 3,676 8.7%

Colin McCusker UUP 6 3,402 8.0%
Joanne Dobson UUP 3,348 7.9%
Harry Hamilton AP 1,979 4.7%
David Vance TUV 1,026 2.4%
Sheila McQuaid AP 786 1.9%
Barbara Trotter UKIP 272 0.6%

SF were talking up their chances of a gain here, and on the first preferences I thought that they had taken the SDLP seat. But in fact Kelly survived on Alliance transfers and (again) SF's failure to balance. Note also Joanne Dobson managing to win a seat from 8th place.
Tags: world: northern ireland

  • Linkspam for 30-6-2010

    Political party to register "within weeks" Dissidents from the Irish Greens to set up their own group. Their disgruntlement with their…

  • Linkspam for 25-5-2010

    Denouement for the MMR scare: Dr Aust’s Spleen [Wakefield’s work] was published. People critiqued it. They looked carefully at the findings in…

  • Linkspam for 7-5-2010

    Beware the Warnings of al Qaeda - International - The Atlantic Morocco's government may be invested in using the threat of terrorism…

  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.