Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

5) About Time: The Unauthorised Guide to Doctor Who, 1985-1989

This is the last (so far) of the About Time series of guides to Doctor Who, covering not only all the Seventh Doctor series and all but the first of the Sixth Doctor stories, but also the 1999 TV movie, the misconceived 1993 Dimensions in Time piece, The Curse of Fatal Death and the two Peter Cushing movies. Tat Wood is the main credited author (Lawrence Miles being absent this time, but with "additional material" by Lars Pearson and a defence of The Two Doctors by Robert Shearman).

As in previous volumes, Wood's sarcastic yet affectionate humour makes it a good read, even though it's the period of the programme's history I probably know least well. There are some brilliantly sardonic one-liners which I was regrettably unable to refrain from reading aloud to anyone who would listen. The explanatory essays are as good as ever. Slightly disappointed with the editing - there seem to be a lot more typoes than usual, and some other structural glitches as well. But any serious fan needs to get this.


( 2 comments — Leave a comment )
May. 5th, 2008 12:14 am (UTC)
The overall structural glitch with the books is that they tell the story in series-by-series form. I found myself wishing for an essay about Jo, or about Sarah, or about UNIT, or about how the Key to Time arc held together, instead of the in-depth mining of very narrow seams that they went in for.

The last volume was probably the least bad offender in that category, as they actually had a "did Cartmel have a masterplan?" essay which at least provides an overview of the narrative thrust of the last two seasons. Hilariously, though, in that essay they only reference the actual stories and not any of the other writing or interviews Cartmel's provided about the period, which makes it a very bizarre kind of in-depth analysis.
Jul. 9th, 2009 09:47 am (UTC)
vwhyte, the 'in-depth' analysis bits are (largely) restrcited to what we see and hear on screen; most other sources are acknowledged in The Lore when it comes to behind the scenes intentions.
( 2 comments — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

September 2019


Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by yoksel